Keeping Safe Online

Warning: if you are worried about someone knowing you have visited this website please read the following safety information.
REMEMBER: If you are on our website and someone you are afraid of walks into the room, you can quickly redirect to Google by clicking our Emergency Exit button on the website.
The Exit Website button on the right of The Angelou Centre website will quickly hide the page but you will still need to delete your history to fully cover your tracks.

How can an abuser discover your internet activities?
Please read the warning below to take steps to increase your safety when visiting this website.
As a rule, internet browsers will save certain information as you visit websites.
This includes images from websites visited, information entered into search engines and a trail (‘history’) that shows the sites you have visited.
Although it is possible to delete cookies and address histories, you could still be at risk. If you share your computer with others and they use online banking, an internet forum or another website that requires an online account, their password may be saved.
If you remove the cookies from your PC, therefore, they will know that you have done this because their saved password will disappear

Follow the instructions below to delete your cookies and address histories.
Important: To delete cookies and address histories, you need to know which type of browser you are using.
There are many different types of browsers. Common browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome.
To find out which browser you are using, click on Help on the toolbar on the top of your browser screen. On the drop down menu, you will see an entry that says something like ‘About Internet Explorer’ or ‘About Mozilla Firefox’. This tells you the name of the browser that you are using.

How to delete cookies
To delete cookies and address histories if you are using Internet Explorer 7, click on the Tools menu and choose Internet Options. Go to the General page and under Browser History, click on the Delete… button.
You can then select the Delete all… button to delete everything, or select from Temporary internet files; History; Cookies, or Forms data and Passwords.
There are different ways of deleting your information depending on your exact browser, so look through the Help files of your browser if you are still unsure, or perform a search using a search engine such as http://www.google.com or http://www.bing.com.

How to delete your browsing history
If you are using Internet Explorer or Netscape/Firefox, to delete your record of your visited websites, hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard and then press the H key (Opera users should hold down Crtl, Alt and H).
You can then find any entries that say http://www.angelou-centre.org.uk and right click and choose Delete. If you are a Safari user, select History at the top of the screen and select “Clear History”

Private browsers
Many browsers, including Internet Explorer 8 and Firefox v2.5 upwards, now allow you to use the Internet and visit websites without some or all of your activity being stored. This means that you can browse without having to worry about anybody else knowing that you have visited our (or any other) website.
There are certain disadvantages of using private browsers. Not all browsers offer the option of private browsing, so make sure that your browser is up to date. Also remember that information such as bookmarks may still be stored, depending on the browser, and that other information may still be stored if there is any third-party software on your computer that records Internet and computer activity. Examples of these programs include K9 Web Protection and OpenDNS.
Internet Explorer: Go to SafetyTools – “InPrivate Browsing”.
Firefox: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines – “New Private Window”.
Chrome: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines and select “New Incognito Window”. Similar options can be found in Opera and Safari.

Email
If you wish to contact The Angelou Centre, you can send us an email.
If you don’t have an email account, you can register at a popular website such as http://www.hotmail.com or http://www.gmail.com and follow the instructions. These websites allow you to access your email from anywhere with a password, for extra privacy.
Remember that records of emails can be accessed in several ways.
• All emails that you send appear in the Sent Items folder, so delete any emails that you don’t want your abuser to see.
• Whenever someone replies to an email, earlier emails are usually in the body in the new email, so delete it if you want to keep this information a secret.
• Take a look at the Drafts folder regularly in case there are any emails that you have started but not finished.
• If you delete any email in any email program, you will find it in a folder called Deleted Items, so remember to delete the email from there to remove it completely.

Toolbars
Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose “Clear Search History”.

General security
If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage.

All of the above information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites.

The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend’s house, at work or come in to the Angelou Centre.